

enth-Century Political Formations  Divide the states of the eighteenth century into	o three overlapping gro
Divide the states of the eighteenth century into	o three overlapping gro
	~ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \
Give an account of the Maratha expansion of 761.	ccurred between 1720
1,00	



## **Eighteenth-Century Political Formations**

- Q1. Divide the states of the eighteenth century into three overlapping groups.
- Ans. Broadly speaking the states of the eighteenth century can be divided into three overlapping groups:
  - (1) States that were old Mughal provinces like Awadh, Bengal and Hyderabad. Although extremely powerful and quite independent, the rulers of these states did not break their formalties with the Mughal emperor.
  - (2) States that had enjoyed considerable independence under the Mughals as watan jagirs. These included several Rajput principalities.
  - (3) The last group included states under the control of Marathas, Sikhs and others like the Jats. These were of differing sizes and had seized their independence from the Mughals after a long-drawn armed struggle.
- Q2. Give an account of the Maratha expansion occurred between 1720 and 1761.
- Ans. Between 1720 and 1761, the Maratha empire expanded. It gradually chipped away at the authority of the Mughal Empire. Malwa and Gujarat were seized from the Mughals by the 1720s. By the 1730s, the Maratha king was recognised as the overlord of the entire Deccan peninsula. After raiding Delhi in 1737 the frontiers of Maratha domination expanded rapidly: into Rajasthan and the Punjab in the north; into Bengal and Orissa in the east; and into Karnataka and the Tamil and Telugu countries in the south. These were not formally included in the Maratha empire, but were made to pay tribute as a way of accepting Maratha sovereignty.